Search This Blog

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Currently Supporting|||||||||||||||||||Damu The Fudgemunk: Supply For Demand "Vinyl" [Artwork + Tracklist]

As Quote from Kevin Nottingham:

"One of my most anticipated albums for the 4th quarter is Damu’s Supply For Demand and all the details were recently released online. This one drops November 23rd and from the Y Society reunion track to the video you’re about to see after the jump, this joint looks like it’s gonna be really special. Read more below and peep the tracklist after the cut.

Supply For Demand is the latest release from the notable Washington DC producer/DJ/MC, Damu The Fudgemunk. The title is a nod to his growing and loyal fanbase, which this album is directly targeted at. Following the successful release of Damu’s critically acclaimed instrumental LP, How It Should Sound (April 2010), Damu & Redefinition Records felt it was only right to return with a new release, designed to satisfy the current fanbase while converting new listeners with some unexpected content. Supply features a handful of vocal tracks, several sprawling, multi-layered instrumentals, as well as a batch of music videos. Damu’s full capability is on display here, from his intricate scratching sequences, to his lush and complex sonic arrangements. While Damu is commonly known as a shy and reserved character, the album’s highlight is surely “DC Joint,” which finds Damu behind the mic, stepping out of his usual comfort zone to act as virtual tour guide; rapping effortlessly in great detail about the realities, highlights and lowlights experienced within his hometown of Washington DC. The beat is not jazzy, the rhymes are not typical Damu fodder, but somehow it all just works out perfectly. The album also features “Don’t Do It” a song that features Damu’s partner in rhyme, Insight, on the mic. “Dont Do It” is notable in itself, being the first Y Society song the group has released since their debut lp, “Travel At Your Own Pace” back in 2007, and also because it is the first track that the group shot a music video for. There is more to Supply For Demand, which will slowly be unveiled in the coming weeks, including several “making of” videos and a remix or two.

Vinyl Tracklist (Catalog Number: RDF008)

Side A
01 Supply For Demand
02 DC Joint (Ward 4 Version) (Damu Vocal Track)
03 Wonka Beat 4
04 Bright Side 25th Bday Remix (Damu Vocal Track)
05 Wonka Beat 5
06 Killin’ Time Rhyme (Damu Vocal Track)
Side B
07 Don’t Do It featuring Insight (Y Society)
08 Wonka Beat 6
09 DC Joint (Only Built For Washingtonians) Instrumental
10 Don’t Do It – Instrumental
11 Bright Side Remix – Jazzley Ou’Francis Instrumental

No comments:

Post a Comment